Candy jar etiquette

I made the mistake of chauffeuring my sister to a doctor’s appointment yesterday before eating lunch. Arriving, I noticed there was a candy jar at the front desk.

Fourth time I went back to the jar, the lady behind the glass window of the desk tipped her reading glasses to the tip of her nose,  looked up, and asked, “Who are you waiting for?” I answered with the name of my sister, and she responded uncertainly, “Oh. Ok. Well I, uhh, was just asking.. to make sure whoever you were waiting for.. hadn’t.. left.” It was clear she thought I had gone to the candy jar too many times.

On the way out, I detoured to grab the cinnamon one I’d been eyeing.

One thought on “Candy jar etiquette

Leave a Reply

