Cedar Waxwings

I was in my office at the paper I was working at and saw a flock of birds (my avid birder friend informed me later that they were cedar waxwings) in a tree outside the window. In a hurry, I unlocked the gear cabinet and took out a camera body and a long lens. Then I stood up on my desk and tried to get a clear shot through the window; one of those windows that swings open from the bottom. The effect of not having enough room between the glass and the open air is that extreme blur in some areas. Every time I look at the top photo, the bird staring inquisitively back at the camera (at bottom-center) is worth a laugh.

9 thoughts on “Cedar Waxwings

  1. it’s seldom to catch a flock of birds. this “blur” just add some special feelings to the photos i think 😉 it’s cool that you dont scare them off and get “staring” back, lol.
    p.s. by describing “I unlocked the gear cabinet and took out a Nikon D300S and a 300mm f/2.8 lens.”, you are very detailed James… and “standing on the desk” reminds me of the movie “Dead Poets Society” 🙂

  2. Well done for shooting through a window! I love these and the blur and the whole tone of the photos. I really love the 2nd one with the two birds yelling at each other in the middle of the image. 🙂 Great job here and thanks for sharing! And standing on the desk! Perfecto!

  3. I LoVe the shot through the window. I agree it adds some emotion to it. And they way the red and green just pop through in spots is amazing. Oh, and I love the idea of you clambering on your work desk for the perfect photo moment…all in all….priceless!

Leave a Reply

