Studio

Through the double door and on to the lacquered floor –

Paint-splattered, use-worn.

Dark steps before the switch are all inward sounding,

Thumping four times before the lights flicker on.

Breathing in smooth linseed, and sharp turpentine:

The scent of rendered skin.

 

Among the drab, the thoughtless colors. Above them all, your portrait hovers,

Waiting, earthy hued, in the easel’s holds.

Trace from dark brown eyes  to curls, resting full in matching shades,

Cupped in your collar bones, exposed

 

And falling to the canvas corners –

Receding to imagination,

To expectation.

—–

Two weeks pass, returning daily to see the progress,

You moved as the tide of my dreams.

And because you painted yourself so well,

Your closed lips would part to smile.

 

Years gone, I wake and choke,

Gut to heart, heart to throat.

We met and you were taken –

He a better man, a smile of his own.

26 thoughts on “Studio

  1. James, this poem settled it. I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award (see this link for details:

    http://lightscapesphotography.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    The “terms” of receipt are included in that post. I know that some folks see this sort of thing as a nuisance rather than an honor and, while I don’t feel that way I can understand why others might, so if you’d prefer not to deal with it, as far as I’m concerned, simply disregard the whole thing.

    Regards,

    –Kerry

  2. I love this. In fact… Ok so. I’ve been acting editor of my schools art and literary magazine for the past few months and now that I’ve graduated I’ve got a lot more time to put into it. I would really, really love it if you would submit this to our magazine. Most of the artists don’t really submit written work so we never really get any literary submissions about artistic themes. If your interested at all please let me know.

    SilverCorbinArt@Gmail.com

  3. As magnificent as the art on the post Ethel and I just read. This is a powerful, emotive poem with enough telling detail to invite the reader to finish the story that is nearly told in their mind. Good work.

Leave a Reply

