Two Dreams

I.

I dreamt that we were gods, the three of us,

you two brothers, and I – distinguished by our eyes,

that’s how our people knew us, chestnut brown,

ice blue, and chameleon hazel. As gods do,

you two were in dispute,  some brotherly quarrel

at first, but then a rage of fists, and storms,

and plagues. All the while, I tried to stand between

the both of you, until the people came up the mountain

to bring us down, and we were slaughtered by their hands;

me first for failing to keep the peace. In my last breaths,

I could feel the damp grass, and for the first time

since creating myself, shivered from the cold night air.

II.

The familiar brick buildings were strange at first,

but I was curled at the base of them, with a white

blanket, and an empty bottle of whiskey, which I must

have drank during the night. I was back at university,

but I was no student, I was a vagrant, homeless

and lonely, and longing to be near the rush of people.

From the static of a walky-talky, I heard the approach

of security, who were there to remove me from my spot,

though I did not understand why. I struggled, I ran,

I was captured, I murdered, I escaped,  I sought sanctuary

on the highest building, and in the lowest gutter,

and I wept at my misfortune; another god reborn.

10 thoughts on “Two Dreams

  1. Beautifully written dreams, my friend. I too, had a dream today on the train. We were playing baseball, us two versus someone else. I threw you the ball from the outfield and the conductor woke me up. Asshole. But anyway, your photo is strangely addictive. Fitting.

    1. Thanks Mr. Young. I woke up all sweaty, and disoriented. Maybe some psychoanalyst out there will interpret for me.

      Did the conductor wake you from the end of some 20-inning stalemate?

      1. Not sure what the score was, but you were just about to tag that sucker out. I have no idea why it was about baseball. I think we both have bad memories of baseball.

  2. The thing that strikes me about these two dreams is that they both see a movement from a high place to a low place, or from a low place to a high place. From god to man and from man to god. In each instance, you are captured by another’s hands. Your transformation occurs through another medium which seems violent or forceful, punishing. The theme of judgement comes across. Wow. I really enjoyed reading these. I’d be interested to hear your own interpretation of these dreams…;)

    1. I almost don’t want to say anything, because I think your analysis is probably closer than my own. I’ll tell you though that I think a lot about man’s place in the world, and our self-imposed conditions, and if they’re, in fact, in our control.

      1. I attended a conference once where there was a guest speaker who offered to give a evening talk about dreams and dream analysis. He was very experienced with dream analysis and I distinctly remember one thing he told us. He said that no one other than you can interpret your dream, and the crux of the dream is found in the part of the dream that was/is the most emotionally charged or intense. The meaning is found there where your emotions were most extremely felt…it all unfolds from there. He asked us if anyone had a dream to share and I, reluctantly, raised my hand. I shared a dream which also had a “judgement/punishment” theme. The most intense part of the dream where I experienced the most emotion was in comic strip format, frame by frame the most intense part of the dream unfolded. He said that comic strip form is common if emotions are too much to handle alongside realistic imagery. Very interesting. Anyway, I mention this only because your reply places a strong valuation on my analysis — it is not my analysis but yours which is the key…which I suspect you already know ; ) I just found it interesting that in the first dream you seem to go from a god to man, and in the second you go from man to god and in each segment you are somewhat powerless to this change/transformation. Fascinating, indeed.

      2. Thanks for the insight. You were brave to raise your hand, but it sounds like it was worth it. The reason I found your response interesting is because your perspective was pretty accurate, and you brought up points that I overlooked; I think an outsider can take a more objective stance, which can open up the interpretation.

Leave a Reply

