Photos through the eyes of my boyhood self

While simplifying my life recently I uncovered these photos sitting in a shoebox, and I was nearly stricken sick with nostalgia.

The photos are through the eyes of myself as a 10-year-old boy.

From a photo of a seal on a rock in the Pacific, to a photo of my boyhood dog and confidant Beethoven at the window of the car, I know in my adulthood pursuit of photography I’ll be hard-pressed to ever make photos this meaningful to me again.

the kid behind the camera

24 thoughts on “Photos through the eyes of my boyhood self

  1. A lovely post James. I’m going to have to ask my parents if they kept any of the pictures I was taking at a similar age. A very nice find and I can understand why these pictures mean so much! 🙂

  2. Excellent post James and very honest.

    I too wish I could go back and explain some things to my younger self but hopefully I can do that for my daughter, to make sure she has more confidence in herself while she goes through the same things.

    I too have recently been having a look back at old photos but not as far back as aged 10, more like 17 y/o, it’s interesting to see some similarities in my photographic interests between then and now.

    1. Thanks a lot. Absolutely, that’s what being a good parent is about (from what I can understand from my outside perspective).

      These seem to all have come from the same disposable camera, and it was probably one of the first times I ever used a camera. I’m surprised how well composed some of them are, with focus on the thirds. And they are very similar to the type of photos I would take now.

  3. Very emotive, beautiful post. I am absolutely astounded and enthralled with those photos. I must admit, a lot of emotion was definitely evoked in me reading this post, looking at the delicate beauty of those images- what coy beauty indeed. Well done. Fantastic post.

  4. How much poorer our lives would be if we lost the ability, or never gained it, to reflect upon and compare our stations in life…to perceive and understand things in our core. I enjoyed the post, James. Thank you for sharing those hard and precious memories….

  5. Once again, a very moving and honest post. I enjoyed reading it. I, too, have things I wish I could go back and tell my little self. I was also thinking that perhaps, one day when you’re older, you’ll look back on the photography and other art work that you are doing now with the same painful nostalgia because when you’re 50 or 60 your wisdom will have grown that much more and you will know more than you do now about your art, and your heart. So, who knows…time will tell, but in the meantime…create ; )

    1. I think the reason these were so impactful, and why I say I’ll never make work this beautiful again is that there’s a sense of the curiosity and wonder you have only as a child that I wish I could have back and it’s present in these photos. But I do hope you’re right.

    1. You know what – I haven’t thought about that question in a long time. What probably inspires me now is translating my internal response to external stimuli.. if that makes any sense. And I haven’t been too inspired recently, but I think that’ll change soon, it comes in waves. Thanks for the e-hug.

      1. translating as in deciphering and figuring out your internal responses, or as in transforming them into something else? or both? either way it’s discovery of self, right?.. very inspiring..

      2. Both, I guess… transforming them into something tangible, which they generally aren’t. No one sees the same color the exact same way, which is a little more superficial than what I’m talking about, but it’s probably the easiest to understand. Yep, discovery of self: probably the most important and most often overlooked facet of being human.

  6. The emotions you pour in here…these days i have similar feelings, i should have let myself remain a kid after my mom’s death instead of pushing myself into becoming a grown-up…

Leave a Reply

